The Victorian Chapter Office Bearers from Oct 2017 - 2019

Wayne Stephens

Chair & VIC Representative on Council

Wayne Stephens has been a member of Learning Environments Australasia since 2007 and a member of the board since 2014.

Lisel Thomas

Chair Elect & VIC representative on Council

Lisel Thomas is an urban planner with over 20 years' experience working for both local Councils and State Government.

Ben Cleveland

Past Chair

Dr Ben Cleveland is a Senior Lecturer in the Faculty of Architecture, Building and Planning at the University of Melbourne, where he is Associate Director of the Learning Environments Applied Research Network (LEaRN). His current research activity includes acting as a Chief Investigator for the ARC Linkage Project.

Wayne Hay


Growing up in Alabama, I found inspiration in art, mythology, science fiction, and superheroes. My favourite superhero group was the X-Men. Unlike other superheroes, the X-Men were considered freaks and feared by those they protected. The X-Men also worked as a team with each member’s distinct skills enhancing the group. The X-Men were truly collaborative. It was their teamwork that made them strong rather than any one member’s power. Much like superheroes, architects aspire to be the perfect ‘all-rounder’; the perfect superman. The problem is that Superman is boring and being great at everything is impossible. I am not great at everything. What I do provide is good design without a big ego. I place high importance on the design process, research, and helping clients realise their goals. Design is fun and bringing clients along on that journey is vital. At Baldasso Cortese, I am a senior project architect in Melbourne. With almost twenty-five years of experience, I have planned, led, and delivered award winning master plans and architectural designs for a range of award winning education and commercial projects. I place high importance on customer service and an inclusive design process to help clients turn their objectives into great designs.

Euway Gan


This page last updated: Monday 23 October 2017