LE NSW celebrate 2019 NSW Awards

Published: Thursday 16 January 2020

On the 28th November, 2019 Learning Environments Australasia NSW Chapter hosted the NSW Awards at KPMG in International Towers at Barangaroo.

The aim of our Annual Awards is to acknowledge excellent learning spaces where innovative architectural ideas support the education philosophy. These awards are an opportunity to recognise, celebrate and reward outstanding Learning and Teaching projects across NSW.

Our guest speaker for the evening was Claire Madden - a leading voice on Gen Z, and an expert in interpreting social trends, demographics and the implications of generational change and the implications these have on the work of architects and educators in designing spaces.

Award winners for 2019 are:

1.New Construction/New Facility-Commended-Sydney University-Life, Earth and Environmental Sciences Building, designed by HDR
2.New Construction/New Facility over 8 Million-Winner-Taronga Institute of Science and Learning, designed by NBRS Architecture
3.New Construction/New Facility under 8 Million-Winner-Good Shepherd Primary School Inquiry Hub, designed by DTA Architects. Commended-Nagle College Inquiry Hub, designed by DTA Architects.
4.Renovation/Modernisation over 5 Million-Winner-Mount Sanai Learning Centre, designed by Smith +Tracey Architecture. Commended-Western Sydney University School of Computing, Engineering and Mathematics, designed by BKA Architecture.
5.Renovation/Modernisation under 5 Million-Winner-Sacred Heart Catholic Primary School, designed by QOH Architects. Commended-St Agnes Catholic High School, designed by DTA Architects.
6.New Building or Renovation Modernisation under 2 Million-Winner-Macquarie University MUIC, designed by Gardner Wetherill and Associates. Commended-Shearwater Steiner School Kindergarten, designed by Baxter and Jacobson Architects.
View the 2019 NSW Award Gallery here 
Article - Cecely McGeachie