2020 LEQ Award Winners announced

Published: Monday 7 December 2020

On Thursday night the 3rd of December 2020, the LEQ Chapter celebrated their second annual Chapter Awards for Excellence in Educational Facility Design program. Congratulations to all the winners and commended project. After a tough year it was great to see the level of support for this year’s Awards and we thank all our entrants for sharing your projects with us.

The aim of the Awards is to celebrate exceptional learning environments where innovative architecture meets and supports advanced educational philosophy. We appreciate the breadth and quality of projects in Queensland that meet these standards and it was fantastic to see projects entered into seven of the eight categories.

The overall Award winner this year was St Eugene College Stage A – Marian Building by Guymer Bailey Architects.

In their citation, the jury advised “Selecting an overall winner is these awards is a difficult task. This year, projects ranged from a renovation delivered for under $3M to a new $17M facility, which then needed to be compared with an outdoor learning area and innovative education initiative. However, the judges were unanimous in recognising this year’s winner as the project that best demonstrated the link between built form, educational philosophies and learning.

The judges were impressed by the thorough planning process and extensive stakeholder consultation, and were pleased to see that this included the involvement of students and parents in addition to the teaching team. It was obvious that this collaborative design process had a strong focus on thinking about kids’ lives and learning, and the outcome is a clear nexus between the educational brief and resulting built form.”

Congratulations to Guymer Bailey Architects and St Eugene College.

Category Award winners and Commendations were:

Category 1: New Constructin / Entire New Educational Facility

Commendation – Fortitude Valley State Secondary College by COX Architecture / ThomsonAdsett

Commendation – C & K Oxley Childcare Centre by Giarola Architects

Category 2: New Construction / New Individual Facility (or Facilities) Over $8M

Winner – Hillbrook Anglican School Upper Campus Precinct by BSPN Architecture

Commendation – Emmanuel College: Neville Bonner AO Centre by Hamilton Hayes Henderson Architects

Category 3: New Construction / New Individual Facility (or Facilities) Under $8M

Winner – Genesis Christian College STEM Building by McLellan Bush Architects

Commendation – Saint Stephen’s College – Centre of Music Excellence by Burling Brown Architects

Category 5: Renovation / Modernisation Under $5M

Winner – St Eugene College Stage A – Marian Building by Guymer Bailey Architects

Category 7: Landscaping / Outdoor Learning Area

Winner – C & K Oxley Childcare Centre by Giarola Architects

Category 8: An Innovative Education Initiative

Winner – Brisbane Catholic Education Energy Reduction & Management Plans by Guymer Bailey Architects

A full list of all jury citations can be found here: Citations To view all entrants, including photos and project descriptions, please refer to the gallery here: https://learningenvironments.awardsplatform.com/gallery/KGjreEGR