South Melbourne Primary School wins LEA's 12th Annual Awards

Published: Thursday 30 May 2019

“Rich and rewarding for the whole community” - South Melbourne Primary School has been declared the overall winner of the 12th Annual Awards for Excellence in Educational Facilities.

Designed by Hayball, Victoria’s first public vertical school won the top honour from a field of 85 entries from across the Asia Pacific.

The judges noted that South Melbourne Primary School challenged design standards to “deliver a vertical school that sits within a public plaza…a rich and rewarding spatial experience for the whole South Melbourne community.”

South Melbourne Primary School also won Category 1: New Construction / Entire New Facility for its “successful integration of educational pedagogies, community values and architectural design philosophies”.

“South Melbourne Primary School is a fantastic example of what can be achieved when educators, architects, students and the community work together to our shape our schools”, said Chris Bradbeer, Chair of Learning Environments Australasia.

The Awards ceremony in Perth was the culmination of LEA’s 19th annual conference on innovative learning spaces, attended by 450 of the world’s leading practitioners in the design and use of learning spaces.  

Congratulations to all the winners and commendations, and sincere thanks to the entrants for taking the time to share their projects.

A book of all 85 Awards entries is now available. Order your copy of Contemporary Learning Spaces

View the gallery for South Melbourne Primary School, and all winners and commendations

Download jury citations for winners and commendations


12th Annual Learning Environments Australasia Awards

Winners and Commendations

Click on a category heading to view the entrants

Overall Winner


South Melbourne Primary School - Hayball


Category 1: New Construction / Entire New Educational Facility


South Melbourne Primary School - Hayball


Braemar College Stage 1 - Hayball

Category 2: New Construction / New Individual Facility Over AU$8 Million


Taronga Institute of Science and Learning - NBRS Architecture


Freemans Bay School - RTA Studio   

Category 3: New Construction / New Individual Facility(ies) Under AU$8 Million  


Cathedral Grammar Junior School, Christchurch - Andrew Barrie Lab + Tezuka

Commendation 1:    

St Pius X High School – Library, NSW - SHAC Architects

Commendation 2:    

Kolbe Catholic College Food Technology Centre, Victoria - Smith + Tracey Architects

Category 4: Renovation / Modernisation Over AU$2 Million  


Our Lady of the Assumption Catholic Primary School - BVN

Commendation 1:    

LCI Melbourne - Gray Puksand

Commendation 2:    

Mildred Manning Science Centre, Wesley College - Taylor Robinson Chaney Broderick

Category 5: Renovation / Modernisation Under AU$2 Million


Domremy College, Solais Sandpit - Hayball

Commendation:    None

Category 6: An Innovative Education Initiative


Domremy College, Solais Sandpit - Hayball

Commendations:    none

Category 7: Landscaping/Outdoor Learning Area

Winner:        None

Commendation 1:    

Alberton ‘The Nest’ Primary School - JPE Design Studio

Commendation 2:    

Ivanhoe East Primary School - Jeavons Landscape Architects

Photographer credits:

South Melbourne Primary School - Dianna Snape Photography

Taronga Institute - Brett Boardman Photography

Cathedral Grammar Junior School - Patrick Reynolds

Our Lady of the Assumption Catholic Primary School- Brett Boardman Photography

Mildred Manning Science Centre, Wesley College - Kelly Bucksey Photographer

Domremy College, Solaris Sandpit - Hayball