2016 Victorian Chapter Award winners announced

Published: Tuesday 6 December 2016

The annual Learning Environments Victorian Chapter Awards for outstanding learning environments were announced at a ceremony at Melbourne Museum's spectacular Treetops room on Thursday 27th October. 

Sponsored by Aquabubble and SitLess, the evening was a huge success, showcasing some of the many great examples of recently completed educational facilities, buildings, renovations and landscaping projects.  

Now in its twelfth year, the core mission of the awards is to raise the standard of educational planning and design, to bridge the awareness between architects and school communities about the interplay of teaching and learning methodology and space, and to showcase examples of best practice educational design.

We would like to thank all of those who submitted entries this year.  The calibre of submissions was exceptionally high.  We would especially like to congratulate the following winners and commendations:

Category 1 - New Educational Facility Construction / Entire Educational Facility

Winner: Ruyton Girls' School, New Margaret McRae Building, Woods Bagot

Commendation: Officer Secondary College, ClarkeHopkinsClarke Architects

Category 2 - New Construction / New Individual Facility

Winner: Somerville Secondary College, Technical Education & Trade Training Centre, Gray Puksand

Commendation:  St Michael's Grammar School, The Gipson Commons, Architectus
Commendation:  Mount Erin Secondary College, DATS Centre, Hayball
Commendation:  St. Paul’s Anglican Grammar School, Learning Cluster Building, Smith + Tracey Architects


Category 3 - Renovation / Modernisation Over $2m

Winner: Ave Maria College, The Mary Centre, Hayball

Commendation: La Fourviere Centre, Assumption College, Y2 Architecture

Category 4 - Renovation / Modernisation Under $2m

Winner: Dandenong South Primary School Junior Learning Centre, Hayball

Commendation: St Thomas Aquinas Primary School, Senior Primary Learning Centre Re-purposing Project, Minx Architecture


Category 6 - Landscaping/Outdoor Learning Area

Winner: Marnebek School Sensory Garden, Jeavons Landscape Architects

Commendation:  Marist College Bendigo, Landscape, Y2 Architecture


Category 7 - The Living Experience

Winner: Coatesville Primary School, Senior Learning Centre, ClarkeHopkinsClarke Architects

Text:  Kathleen Turner
Event photos: Neville Cowland
Architectural photos: Michael Downes, Christine Francis, Emily Bartlett, Andrew Lloyd, Nicole England