2018 Victorian Chapter Award winners announced

Published: Wednesday 24 October 2018

The winners of the 14th Learning Environments Victorian Chapter Awards for outstanding learning environments were announced at Alto Events in the GPO Building on Friday October 19. 

Sponsored by aquaBUBBLER and Interface, the evening was a huge success, with over 150 people in attendance. The Awards showcased many great examples of recently completed new and renovated facilities from primary, secondary, university and landscapes for learning. Evident was the extensive consultation with school communities to achieve successful results often on very tight budgets.

Now in its fourteeth year, the core mission of the awards is to raise the standard of educational planning and design, to bridge the awareness between architects and school communities about the interplay of teaching and learning methodology and space, and to showcase examples of best practice educational design.

We would like to thank all of those who submitted entries this year. The calibre of submissions was exceptionally high. We would especially like to congratulate the winners and commendations, listed below.

All entries are published in the Victorian Chapter's new book called Places for Learning which includes plans, photographs and a description of the projects. It's a valuable resource for anyone interested in the contemporary design and use of learning spaces.

You can explore all the entries in our online gallery or click on the category headings below to explore individual categories.

Winners and Commendees - 14th Annual Victorian Chapter Awards

Category 1 - New Educational Facility

Joint Winner:

South Melbourne Primary School – Hayball

Joint Winner:

Kyneton Primary School – Gray Puksand


Category 2 & 3 combined - 2 New Individual Facility over 8m and 3 New Individual Facility under 3m


Kolbe Catholic College, Food Technology Centre – Smith + Tracey Architects


Pembroke Primary School - Law Architects

Ringwood Secondary College Junior School - ClarkeHopkinsClarke

St. Michael Parish School Treehouse – Y2 Architecture


Category 4 - Renovation / Modernisation over $2m


Mentone Grammar School, Keith Jones Learning Centre – Hayball


Mulluana College – Brand Architects

LCI Melbourne - Gray Puksand


Category 5 - Renovation / Modernisation under $2M


None awarded


Aspendale Gardens Primary School - K2LD

Category 6 - An Education Initiative or a Design Solution for an Innovative Program


Ballarat Tech School – Patrick Architects


Monash Temporary Tech School – Brand Architects


Category 7 - Landscaping/Outdoor Learning Area

Winner: Hampton Park Primary School - Minx Architecture

 Photos (in order of appearance): Dianna Snape, Christine Francis, Chris Matterson Photography  Emily Bartlett Photography, MDP Photography & VideoRhiannon Slatter Photographer

Thanks to our Sponsors