2015 Victorian Chapter Award winners announced

Published: Tuesday 1 December 2015

The annual CEFPI Victorian Chapter Awards for education design excellence were announced at an awards ceremony at the Melbourne School of Design last Friday 27th November.

In its eleventh year, the core mission of the awards is to raise the standard of educational planning and design, to bridge the awareness between architects and school communities about the interplay of teaching and learning methodology and space, and to showcase examples of best practice educational design.

CEFPI would like to thank all of those who submitted entries this year and to congratulate the following winners and commendations:

Category 1
New Educational Facility Construction / Entire Educational Facility
Winner: Western Heights College, Patrick Architects
Commendation: Deakin University, Centre for Advanced Design in Engineering Training, (CADET), Gray Puksand

Category 2
New Construction / New Individual Facility
Winner: Montagne Centre, Marist College Bendigo, Y2 Architecture
Commendation: Yarra Valley Grammar Science + Mathematics Building, Hayball

Category 3
Renovation / Modernisation Over $2m
Winner: Marian College Design Warehouse, Minx Architecture
Commendation: Bairnsdale Library, NOWarchitecture
Commendation: Froebel Early Learning Centre, Steffen Welsch Architects

Category 4
Renovation / Modernisation Under $2m
Winner: Junior Learning Centre, St Mary's Primary, Myrtleford, No.42 Architects
Commendation: St Columba's College, Sophia Library, Hayball

Category 5
An Education Initiative or a Design Solution for an Innovative Program
Winner: Yrs 3/4 Centre, St Monica's Primary, Wodonga, No. 42 Architects

Category 6
Landscaping/Outdoor Learning Area
Winner: Bridge Road Children's and Community Centre, Brand Architects

Kathleen Turner

Photography at the Awards - Neville Cowland

These projects will be uploaded to the website as they come to hand.