Winners of the 2017 Victorian Chapter Awards announced

Published: Wednesday 25 October 2017

The winners of the 2017 Learning Environments Victorian Chapter Awards for outstanding learning environments were announced at Melbourne Museum on Friday 20th October. 

Sponsored by aquaBUBBLER, the evening was a huge success, with over 120 people in attendance. The Awards showcased many great examples of recently completed new and renovated facilities from early childhood, primary, secondary, university and landscapes for learning. Evident was the extensive consultation with school communities to achieve successful results often on very tight budgets.

Now in its thirteenth year, the core mission of the awards is to raise the standard of educational planning and design, to bridge the awareness between architects and school communities about the interplay of teaching and learning methodology and space, and to showcase examples of best practice educational design.

We would like to thank all of those who submitted entries this year. The calibre of submissions was exceptionally high. We would especially like to congratulate the winners and commendations, listed below. 

You can explore all the entries in our online gallery. All entries are published in the Victorian Chapter's new book, available now, called Places for Learning which includes plans, photographs and a description of the projects.

Winners and Commendees - 13th Annual Victorian Chapter Awards

Category 1 - New Educational Facility

Winner: Morwell Central Primary School, ClarkeHopkinsClarke

Category 2 - New Individual Facility

Joint Winner: Champagnat Centre, Marist College Bendigo, Y2 Architecture

Joint Winner: Coatesville Primary School Redevelopment, ClarkeHopkinsClarke

Commendation: Centre for Learning and Innovation, Carey Baptist Grammar, Hayball

Category 3 - Renovation / Modernisation Over $2m

Winner: Senior Centre, St Monica's Parish Primary School, Baldasso Cortese

Category 4 - Renovation / Modernisation Under $2m

Winner: Brady Hall Redevelopment, Reservoir High School, Brand Architects

Category 5 - An Education Initiative or a Design Solution for an Innovative Program

Winner: studioFive, University of Melbourne, PTID

Commendation: Hazel Glen Scout Hall and Community Activity Centre, Minx Architecture

Category 6 - Landscaping/Outdoor Learning Area

Winner: Eastwood Primary School, RB Landscapes

Text:  Nerissa Kamat
Event photos: Lynette Julian
Architectural photos: Dianna Snape, Leon Schoots, Rhiannon Slatter, Peter Clarke, Rachael Dere, Carl Martin, Casamento Photography.