WA members honoured at Australian Institute of Architects Chapter Awards

Published: Thursday 5 July 2018

Congratulations to the winners of the 2018 WA Architecture Awards, which honour and celebrate excellence in architecture across the state. This year 9 projects were nominated for the Education category from 8 different firms, most of whom are LEA members.

Below are the recipients of awards and commendations for educational architecture.

Hillson Beasley Award for Educational Architecture
Highgate Primary School New Teaching Building
Iredale Pedersen Hook Architects

Jury Citation extract:
“The architects have delivered a culturally rich contemporary learning facility that supports and surpasses the aspirations of the educators and is clearly a delight for its young cohort. Acknowledging the importance of the site, the architects initiated a masterplan to ensure the new teaching building would minimise impact to the existing building fabric and make best use of the site. The project far exceeds simple ambitions; the campus’s new addition reconfigures and adds learning spaces and play areas, frames views and vistas of the streetscape and city beyond, and achieves a spatial variety that seems to echo this multi-cultural, progressive city school.”

Award for Educational Architecture
Wesley College Mildred Manning Science Centre
LEA Member, Taylor Robinson Chaney Broderick

Jury Citation extract:
“Architectural effort and rigour by the architects has transformed a nondescript building with outdated traditional science teaching laboratories into an exciting, interesting and challenging contemporary science learning environment that has become the heart of STEM education within the campus. A contemporary, comprehensive and deeply considered design approach uses clever architectural devices to pique the interest of students and further the study of science. Nothing appears forced or contrived; everything happens in a resolved well-mannered and articulated language to complement Wesley College.”
Commendations for Educational Architecture
South Metropolitan TAFE Murdoch Block T
LEA Member, Armstrong Parkin Architects

Jury Citation extract:
“The project extends and engages with the existing rural campus circulation to create a strong new urban identity. Rigor and consistency in detailing over a large material palette assists with defining the different zones and way finding. A convincing work which has been clearly embraced and highly regarded by the students and staff.”
Methodist Ladies College Junior Years
LEA Member, COX Architecture

Jury Citation extract:
“The learning spaces created are flexible, delightful and support the contemporary educational objectives set by a rigorous year-long briefing and prototyping process. The design and integration of the external spaces and landscaping is well considered given the site conditions and constraints.”

See the full list of winners and commendations here.
 Article: Michelle Chew